Home » PHIRNET Webinar » Speaker: Jane Springett

Speaker: Jane Springett

May 3, 2011 at
10:00am-11:30am PDT (Vancouver time);
11:00am-12:30 MDT (Calgary time);
12:00pm-1:30pm CDT (Winnipeg time);
13:00-14:30 EDT (Toronto and Montréal time);
14:00-15:30 ADT (Halifax time).
Invited speaker: 
Dr. Jane Springett, Director and Professor at the Centre for Health Promotion Studies at the University of Alberta
Title: 
Governance in participatory and collaborative action research
Abstract: 
Research governance can be defined in many ways. Most often it is seen as largely being a matter of ethics and ethic review boards where the need to reduce the risk to participants is conceived largely in terms of clinical practice and the control of medical interventions. This presentation, however, widens the definition of research governance to include the overseeing of the whole research process from choice of research question through the selection of methodology, implementation of that methodology, analysis of data and presentation of results. In collaborative and participatory research decisions on these matters are shared. It will be argued that governance in this context is as much about relationship and process as structure of the organization of decision-making. While the benefits in terms of outcomes are substantial, there are major challenges involved in truly participatory research governance. Nevertheless the lesson learnt have implications for all research given the increasing demand for greater public involvement in research generally.